Armagh City Football Club was formed under the name of Milford Everton in 1964 by a group of Armagh schoolboys. They obtained a pitch in the village of Milford known as “The Holm”. The name Milford Everton was chosen because some of the founder members supported the English club of that name.

Milford Everton played friendly matches against established teams in Mid-Ulster before joining the local Lonsdale League and a short time later the Mid Ulster League. During the late 60’s and the early 70’s Milford Everton became one of the leading sides in Mid-Ulster football and decided at that time to make application for membership of the Irish League “B” Division. Admitted to the “B” Division in 1975, they went unbeaten throughout the first half of the season before finishing a very creditable fourth.

During the 1980’s, changes in the ground standard criteria meant that the picturesque “Holm” with a river on three sides of the ground was no longer suitable for “B” division football and so the Committee began to explore various alternatives. However with no other ground available in the Milford area, the Committee took the major decision in 1988 to relocate to Armagh City itself and at the same time change its name to Armagh City Football Club. The club initially secured a ground-sharing arrangement with Armagh Boy’s Club at the Mill Field while at the same time entering into negotiations with Armagh City Council to obtain a long lease on a plot of land upon which it could be build its own facilities. A green field site was leased at Ardmore just off the Newry Road in 1991 and as they say the rest is history. An international size pitch was constructed the following year and by 1994 everything was in place including an excellent dressing room complex with a viewing lounge in our Social Club on the upper floor. Our ground now boasts 300 seat Grandstand, Floodlights and tiered terracing behind each goal.

Since the move into Armagh, the club has also made steady progress on the field, winning the Mid Ulster and Bob Radcliffe Cups and gaining promotion into the Premier Division of the Irish League in 2004/2005 season, remaining unbeaten throughout that league campaign!

Irish FA First Division: Champions 2004/2005
Irish League First Division: Runners-Up 2003/2004
Irish League B Division Cup: Runners-Up 1993/1994
Mid Ulster Cup: Winners 2000/2001
Runners-Up 1975/1976
Bob Radcliffe Cup: Winners 1991/1992 & 2004/2005
Runners-Up 1982/1983, 1996/1997
& 1998/1999.
Mid Ulster Shield: Winners 1969/1970
Runners-Up 1973/1974
Mid Ulster League Division 1: Champions 1973/1974
Runners-Up 1974/1975
Alan Wilson Memorial Trophy: Winners 1972/1973
Alexander Cup: Winners 1973/1974
Posted in Information

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Main Sponsor

Armagh Sports and Trophies

Next Match


Armagh City v Windmill Stars

Saturday 30 June 2018
Holm Park, 3pm

Club Sponsors

Armagh City Hotel

HomeCare Independent living


Philip White Tyres Ltd

Web Partners